Tomboy Blues

You know what sucks about being a chick who never stopped being a tomboy? Relationships, to start with.

For instance, two out of three of the guys I’ve had relationships with have called me soft.

Soft.

Not a compliment.

Actually, one of the worst insults I’ve ever gotten, and I’ve had some lulus. I’d rather be heavily scarred than be called soft. Because scars are cool.

The first genius I dated once told me to take off my jacket because he couldn’t see my feminine curves.

Fail.

The last genius I dated thought it was funny and flirty to poke and tickle me. He laughed during our resulting battles, when I was trying my hardest to give him a lesson he wouldn’t soon forget.

Tickling isn’t flirting. It’s war.

Second problem: clothes. I wear guy’s clothes more often than not. It’s more comfortable, practical, the pockets can hold more, and there isn’t a trace of pink, sparkles, flowers or hearts in sight. Bet you can guess how often I get asked on dates. Even though, you know, I’m freakin’ gorgeous, and I look good in everything I wear.

Third, people have assumed that I’m a lesbian. Sorry, but guys are way too hot for me to even think about it.

I know, I know. I have issues. I still go through days where I wish I’d been born a boy. Well, I’m sorry. I don’t want to be the Bella Swan or Princess Aurora or even Galadriel. I’d much rather be Indiana Jones!

Leave a Reply

