Mormon Rant: Beauty and Young Women

My fellow Latter Day Saint women,

When did we become preoccupied with being beautiful? Let’s be honest—the majority of us will never win beauty contests. Who cares? Of all the attributes that can be found in us, there are so many more important things than our physical beauty and the clothes we wear (i.e, Faith, Divine Nature, Individual Worth, Knowledge, Choice and Accountability, Good Works, Integrity and Virtue).

I’m sorry, but I’m so sick of Young Women leaders telling all the girls how beautiful they are. (Don’t even try to excuse it by saying you mean beautiful on theĀ inside.) Some of us aren’t beautiful, and we know it. We shouldn’t have to inhale the message that we have to be from our own leaders. Why can’t we be called strong or intelligent, instead? Spiritual? You don’t hear the Young Men leaders calling the boys handsome, do you?

And if I ever have to do another craft, I think I’m going to vomit. I hate crafts. And yet, that and playing sports like volleyball and softball were the majority of my Young Women activities. Sure, sports are good, but you’re further embarrassing those of us who spent our PE classes getting hit in the face with the ball. The boys get to go rock climbing and shooting. Why can’t we? I’m so sick of being told what is and isn’t appropriate for a young lady.

My fellow women, it’s fine to not be all that beautiful. It’s not all that it’s cut out to be. All I’ve gotten for being even remotely pretty is a long line of over-emotional wronged Romeos who don’t get that I’m not interested, and the other guys who are too scared to ask me out, and still others who like me until they see what’s beneath the surface. And there’s so much more to life than what we see.

Leave a Reply

